Weekend of fun, thrill in Bacolod

Olmin Leyba - The Philippine Star
Weekend of fun, thrill in Bacolod
Japeth Aguilar.

MANILA, Philippines — The PBA will bring its brightest stars to Bacolod for the first time in 16 years for a weekend of fun, test of skills and friendly competition later this month.

Set March 23 and 24, the 2024 edition of the annual mid-season festivities will thrill Bacolodnons and Negrenses with a wide range of activities highlighted by the All-Star game between “Team Japeth” and “Team Mark.”

Skipper Japeth Aguilar will team up with his Ginebra buddies Christian Standhardinger, Scottie Thompson, Jamie Malonzo, Maverick Ahanmisi and Stanley Pringle plus Paul Lee (Magnolia), Calvin Oftana (TNT), Chris Newsome (Meralco), Don Trollano (San Miguel), Marcio Lassiter (San Miguel), Arvin Tolentino (NorthPort), Tyler Tio (Phoenix), and Terrence Romeo (San Miguel) on one side.

On the other, captain Mark Barroca will have Magnolia mates Jio Jalalon, Ian Sangalang, and Calvin Abueva plus June Mar Fajardo (San Miguel), Jason Perkins (Phoenix), CJ Perez (San Miguel), Robert Bolick (NLEX), James Yap (Blackwater), Jayson Castro (TNT), Gabe Norwood (Rain or Shine), Cliff Hodge (Meralco), Juami Tiongson (Terrafirma), Nards Pinto (Ginebra), and rookie Ricci Rivero (Phoenix).

Ginebra’s Tim Cone will call the shots for “Team Japeth” while San Miguel’s Jorge Gallent will mentor “Team Mark.”

The marquee event will cap a series of fun-filled offerings such as separate Three-Point shooting contests for the bigs and the guards, Obstacle Challenge for the frontliners and the Team Stalwarts versus Team Greats game featuring top rookie, sophomore and junior players.

With the Slam Dunk Contest scrapped due to injuries of the participants, the PBA will hold a long-range shooting joust for the giants as a side event in the City of Smiles.

Perkins, Brandon Ganuelas-Rosser (TNT), Aris Dionisio (Magnolia), Sean Anthony (NLEX), JM Calma (NorthPort), Mo Tautuaa (San Miguel), Isaac Go (Terrafirma), Keith Zaldivar (Converge), and rookies Ralph Cu (Barangay Ginebra), Christian David (Blackwater), Brandon Bates (Meralco), and Keith Datu (Rain or Shine) will dispute the inaugural crown.

vuukle comment


  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with